1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

nikkor 50mm f/1.4 or f/1.8?

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by evokel, Sep 7, 2008.

1. evokel

evokel

Sep 6, 2008
    florida
    could anyone give me info on either one of these and which one to lean towards. Im really new to photography and still getting to know the lenses. I have a d80, so could anyone tell me which one is for me please :smile:

2. Ruff Draft

Ruff Draft

Sep 2, 2007
    Michigan
    I think everyone should own the 1.8. It's such a well-rounded lens at a great price. People don't understand how useful a larger aperture really is. Now if you can afford the 1.4 and would use that aperture, buy that one!

3. lisa_h

lisa_h

Sep 6, 2008
    New England
    I think I have a bad copy of the 1.4
    I owned the 1.8 first and it was super sharp.
    I then got the 30 1.4 sigma and honestly that stayed on my camera more often than the nikkor 1.4! Today I have been playing around w/ the fine tune feature but I'm just not getting the results I should be getting. I'm sure it's a great lens---- IF you get a good copy. It has mixed/bad reviews on Fred Miranda.

4. I bought the F1.8 first (to save money) but eventually bought the F1.4 and sold the F1.8. The F1.4 is sharper up thru about F4 than the F1.8. It is my most used lens for natural light portraits of my grandson. If I could justify the 85mm F1.4 I would probably like that even better, but the 50mm F1.4 works very well for me. If cost is a serious consideration then the 50mm F1.8 is a great choice.

5. I bought the 1.8

I bought the 50/1.8 first and then the 1.4 - in my little experience the 1.8 has been sharper wide open up to f4 (contrary to what others say...) and now am left with a 1.4 and wish it was a 1.8