Nikon 70-300 AF-P on a D300

My son inherited my D300 and wants a longer lens. The Nikon 70-300 AF-P is very well regarded and would serve him well even as he upgrades cameras later (when I upgrade he will get my D500). However, I read that there may be issues with the lens and the D300 but have not been able to find out what they are. Anyone have any information of experience with this?

Real Name
Carl
I have no direct experience with the D 300. The P is a fine lens, but find a good pre owned 70-300 AF-S 70-300 4.5-5.6....a contemporary of the D300. It will play well with the camera, and costs less.
I have a friend who used the combination to shoot for a car publication, high school track & field events, Gymnmastics, plays and grad photeaux. His lens is/was, as KEH says... UGLY! The focus ring rubber was at least a quarter inch larger than the lens barrel, he had used it so much, but it produced. His son has the camera and lens now.
The AF-S was my first really long lens. I used it with satisfaction on my D 50, D 90 and D7100 for 10+ years... till GAS struck, and I upgraded to the P series. Happy! Mother Nikon could give you definitive information about the D300 and the P lens. May just need a software upgrade.

I have no direct experience with the D 300. The P is a fine lens, but find a good pre owned 70-300 AF-S 70-300 4.5-5.6....a contemporary of the D300. It will play well with the camera, and costs less.
I have a friend who used the combination to shoot for a car publication, high school track & field events, Gymnmastics, plays and grad photeaux. His lens is/was, as KEH says... UGLY! The focus ring rubber was at least a quarter inch larger than the lens barrel, he had used it so much, but it produced. His son has the camera and lens now.