Nikon Capture a must?

Discussion in 'General Technical Discussion' started by Jon H, Nov 4, 2005.

1. Jon H

Jon H

Jun 25, 2005
    Stockton, CA
    I would like to start experimenting by shooting in RAW, but I don't have Nikon Capture. Is there any other alternative for converting the NEF to more compatible file types? I'm very new at this so I'm not even sure of what I've just asked. :confused:

Some background info...
    -shoot with D70
    -have Adobe CS
    -use PowerBook G4
    -and most importantly, strapped for cash :rolleyes:

thanks all!

2. heiko

heiko

May 15, 2005
    Israel
    Hello Jon,

There are several alternatives:

1. NikonView has a converter to convert to tiff and jpg. It's very rudimentary, though.

2. RawShooter Essentials is a FREE software that can do a good job at converting images. I gave this a try some time ago, with not so good results of a night shooting event. However, reading a little about the workflow and features of this software, I gave it another try and it gave me very good results.
    The real advantage of RawShooter is it's speed - both performance wise and the time it takes to get good results. Nikon Capture is extremely sloooooowwwwwwwwww, and you need some well-equiped PC to make it work decently (1 GB memory or more, and a fast CPU and disk).
    Rawshooter has a very intelligent workflow:
    a. When you pick a new folder, it starts preparing the picture previews in the background. In the meantime you can already start reviewing or working on them.
    b. You can categorize your pics giving it numbers (1 for a real keeper, 2 for good, 3 for fust good enough to not delete it) and flags (maybe special treatment afterwards, like noise removal etc.).
    c. When editing, Rawshooter is very responsive and gives you the results almost immediately (unlike NC where you may have to wait). All changes are saved in a separate folder (not the pics, but the adjustments you made).