Nikon Capture and View NX crashing

Hi everyone,
I am new to the Nikon cafe and have recently learned about the value of using Nikon Capture and Nikon Nxi to download and edit my photos. My problem is that on my windows 10 PC I have installed, uninstalled, reinstalled and on and on and when I open either program is stays on screen for just a couple of seconds and then immediately closes. Does anyone have any direction as to what might be the problem? My son is a computer professional in California and teamviewer remoted into my camera for about 2 1/2 hours but was not able to get it to open either and suggested that I pose the question on this forum in hopes that someone else might have some insight.
Thanks in advance,
Javagirl

• Thread Starter Thread Starter
thank you olshroom for the welcome and info. Im using it in conjunction with a photography class (hopefully) so maybe someone here has come across the same problem...

I used Capture NX and NX2 for years. I even conducted an infamous contest here about the timing of when Capture NX3 would be released. (It never was and never will be released). I've also casually followed posts about Nikon's various software products in the years since then. Yet despite all the problems I've seen reported including the issues I reported myself, I don't remember anyone having this particular issue. I sympathize with you.

I've used both programs, and transfer, on Macs and PCs and have never encountered the problem. Transfer is not a prerequisite for Capture or View. Best advice is to completely uninstall both programs and reinstall.

After a quick search I found a discussion similar to this with a solution that apparently worked.