Nikon Clout!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by haze2, Apr 3, 2007.

1. haze2

haze2

Mar 18, 2007
    Phoenix, AZ
    I would like to share an interesting story from this past weekend and see if any of you have had a similar experience.

Two years ago I took my camera to Arizona Bike Week to photograph the motorcycles, bikers, and festivities. I decided to take my little P&S as I didn’t want to worry about hauling around my Nikon. People usually obliged when I took their picture, but often times I could tell they somewhat annoyed by my presence. It was never a real problem, just something I could sense.

Now jump to AZ Bike Week 2007. I decided to bring my D80 as I wanted better images than the P&S could provide. I had a black camera strap with the usual bright yellow “NIKON” boldly embroidered on both ends. Man did I get a different reception. The Nikon gets respect. I could tell that many people immediately assumed I was a professional taking pictures for one of the biker publications. I didn’t do anything to perpetuate this assumption, other than carry a Nikon. When girls dancing to the music saw me they immediately became much more animated. Guys would hold up their beers and ham it up for the camera. Couples would kiss, and smile, and show off their funny T-shirts. When the band saw me approach the stage they all turned toward the camera and really started “putting on a show” for the benefit of the lens! There are many more examples, but you get the idea.

I think it’s pretty cool that a camera carries that much clout!

haze

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 3, 2007