Nikon D7000 vs Canon 60D, my experience

My comparison between the two cameras

D7000 vs 60D

After spending a few weeks with these cameras, I thought I would spend a few minutes going over my impressions between the two. I have been shooting Nikon for years, and I've had some experience with Canon, but recently I picked up a Canon 60D for timelapse photography and astrophotography. The last several weeks my Nikon D7000 has remained at home while I learned the in’s and out’s of the Canon. I have over 6,000 shutter releases on the canon already, about 4,000 from timelapse, the other 2000 are just me out shooting.

Image quality.

Same. I cant really see any difference. At the higher ISO's (3200 and 6400) the D7000 really starts to outrun the 60D, its nice to have that extra push of the D7000, but if you are shooting in those conditions you are already making compromises. I would assume the 60D is going to be more than enough when it comes to high ISO use, if you shoot concerts and such, the D7000 might be a better solution. Very little of my photography is done in such conditions. The only time I really use the D7000 in low light situations is with Astrophotography which I discuss later.
The 18mp vs 16.2mp, well, those extra 1.8mp is so marginal they are virtually the same.
I know sharpness has a lot to do with lenses, but what I have seen with the 60D it is not overly difficult to get very sharp images with those 18mp, no harder than the D7000.

Autofocus system