Nikon P2

Discussion in 'Other Cool Gear, Camera Bags, Camera Straps' started by Luckynp, Dec 27, 2005.

1. Santa brought me a Nikon P2. I wanted a P&S that I could take everywhere with me. After a couple of days struggling with the manual I have managed to implement wifi with my very small JVC notebook.

I'm new to this, but taking a picture and having it magically appear on the laptop after a couple of seconds feels so cool I can hardly breathe...

2. neat! I am intrigued by that as well.

3. Ales

Ales

Dec 29, 2005
    Kamnik, Slovenia
    Hi I have Nikon P2. I can not manage to connect it in wireless G mode (54K).

Do you connect it in 54K or 11K ?

Ales

4. Hi Ales. 11k, I think. I find I have to turn off my firewall to get it to work. But that's no problem as the laptop has no internet connection at the moment.

5. Ales

Ales

Dec 29, 2005
    Kamnik, Slovenia
    Has anybody connected Nikon P2 to 54K network ? Is this possible ?

11k is very slow.

Ales

6. First of, I think I have to mention here that we are talking about 802.11g (and eventually 802.11n) a technology that offers transmission over relatively short distances at up to 54Mbps (Megabits per second)

Networks employing 802.11g operate at radio frequencies between 2.400 GHz and 2.4835 GHz, the same band as 802.11b.

But the 802.11g specification employs orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM), the modulation scheme used in 802.11a, to obtain higher data speed.

Computers or terminals set up for 802.11g can fall back to speeds of 11 Mbps. This feature makes 802.11b and 802.11g devices compatible within a single network.

So, I guess there are other devices or setup conditions that do not allow you to connect at higher speeds.

Nevertheless, the best you can get out of a wireless G is ~26-28Mbps, since the 54Mbps applies to both in and out.

7. Ales

Ales

Dec 29, 2005
    Kamnik, Slovenia
    Hi, thanks for clarification.

My mistake. I shoud wrote 11Mb and 54Mb.