Nikon PCE Tilt/Shifts for landscape

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by DABO, Jul 14, 2008.

1. DABO

DABO

Jan 13, 2006
    I've got format confusion.

I originally learned the beauty of tilt/shift using 4x5 cameras. Then, I used medium format for a while, then 35mm, and now I've been using DX Nikons for the past 5 years or so.

So now I'm thinking of moving from my D200 to the D700 and, since I've been pining for tilt/shift, I'm thinking of getting a Nikkor 24mm or 45mm PCE lens.

My confusion is that I can't picture how the viewfinder will look with these focal lengths and which is a better focal length for landscape work on an FX camera. If I was going to use T/S on DX, the 24mm is a no-brainer. But isn't 24mm REALLY wide on FX (like a 16mm on DX)?

And it's been so long, that I can't remember whether the T/S accentuates the wideness of a FOV or diminishes it. Also, since there is side shift capability, wouldnt it be easy to tilt for DOF near and far and then shift side to side to get a larger FOV?

Can someone help me conceptualize this?

DAB

2. slappomatt

slappomatt

May 13, 2006
    San Diego CA
    you are correct about 24 on FX being the same angle as 16 on DX. the rest I dont know :)

3. 24mm is quite wide, but still not wide enough for what I'd likely be using it for. Especially since I'm not really fond of stitching. The tilt or shift has no effect on the 'wideness' of the lens. Just figure out what field of view you use most now, and judge from there. Keep in mind that the tilt and shifting directions are opposite by default. I'm not sure whether you can align them or not. Since you've used large format I'll not elaborate further on what that means practically.

4. rsprouse

rsprouse

Jan 25, 2006
    Encinitas CA
    Hi DAB: