Nikon Service How-to Guide

Well after over 20 years of using Nikon products, for the first time I have a warranty issue. Ironically it's on the most expensive piece of gear I've ever bought, a new 500mm VR lens. Some of you may have seen another thread I posted relating the problem. Basically with an extender on it won't come into focus even with AFA set to the max.

So after exhaustive testing of my own (and I troubleshoot problems for a living), I finally convinced myself it was indeed a problem, picked up the phone, and called Nikon support. Based on my experience so far (lens still not sent off for repair), I figured I would share my experience with the hope of others benefiting by not going through as much frustration.

I won't go into the issues of what it takes to finally get a human on the other end of the phone. No different than most places. I'm just going to offer a few do's and don'ts for once you do in fact have someone to talk to.

Don't:
  • Go into a lengthy explanation of what is wrong with your equipment. Keep it simple like "my lens won't focus". They will politely listen, ignore everything you said, and then start asking you the standard list of questions in their Nikon service procedures manual. Things like "have you checked to ensure that the lens is in AF mode?""Have you checked to ensure that the camera is in AF mode?""Are you using the lens with a camera body that is listed as compatible by Nikon?""Are you sure you didn't bump the manual focus ring on the lens during AF operation?" etc.
  • Use technical terms or assume the person on the other end of the phone has ever even seen a Nikon camera or knows anything at all about the product line
  • Assume that they actually use the information you may have entered into the account that you set up on the Nikon site. Even though it may be obvious that they are looking at your account during the discussion, they are going to ignore what's in there.