Now entering the Blogosphere!

Real Name
John DeSanto
My newspaper asked me to start a Photo Blog online where I would give readers photo tips and tricks. I'm starting off with very basic definitions and trying to keep things light and simple.

I'd certainly appreciated any input you have on the blog, which you can find here

Very nice John! Welcome to the blogosphere! I have been blogging almost daily for almost three years now (though not about photography). A few months ago I started to include a photo of the day (all my work of course).

I looked over yours. Looks nice. Now go get it publicized. Try Technorati, Feedburner, etc.

Subscribed!

[Update] Added a blog post to get you started with whatever little Technorati "Authority" I have.

Last edited by a moderator:
Cool John! I am a big blog proponent (although I don't update mine nearly as often as I should.) I have found that the best way to popularize your blog is to link to other blogs as often as you can, and to comment on other blogs too.

This puts your blog in font of other bloggers who can then point to you, directing their traffic to you. Another is to have clear well titled pages about well defined subjects. You can accomplish this by being sure your blog has article level permalinks to which other blogs can point. Google will also pick-up on this and soon your blog's posts will be findable with a Google search for the subject. This will turn out to be a lot more traffic for your blog than Technorati or other blog-indexing services.

Real Name
John DeSanto
Thanks Chris

for the information. Our web department handles most of the technical stuff here but I'm going to show them your suggestions and see what they say.

Thanks again!

Real Name
John DeSanto
Thanks Alex

I appreciate the information and the blog post!

John