1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

NR in capture nx?

Discussion in 'Nikon Capture and View NX' started by scooptdoo, Jun 29, 2008.

1. scooptdoo

scooptdoo Guest

Ive been using capture nx since december and im feeling very comfortable with it.This past month or so Ive really diving into the noise reduction along with the sharpening tools.in my modest experiance Id say the NR is extreamly effective.is very sensitive with only a few percent of moving slider seriously cuts the noise by 90 %.Working with the sharpening, usm and the high pass tools are most effective.
    my question is ive herd alot about noise ninja and stuff like that there.are they any better than my CAPTURE NX?

2. mikhailr

mikhailr Guest

I have been using Capture NX for several years and Capture NX2 for a month.
    On my opinion Noise Ninja does the job much more better than Capture NX/NX2

Mikhail.

3. Coop

Coop

Feb 9, 2006
    Holyoke, Mass.
    I've found that Neat Image does a much better job reducing noise than does NX. Much less destructive of sharpness.

4. DrJay32

DrJay32

Oct 14, 2006
    Colorado, USA
    The best way to apply NR in Capture NX is selectively. Use the selection brush to add/remove NR from areas of low/high detail, respectively.

Another trick I use is set the sharpeness slider to zero, but then use the opacity mixer to dial back on the luminance opacity. This lets detail come through while still eliminating color (chroma) noise.

-Jason

5. Nice! Did I miss this in your ebook? It seems I need to read a bit more closely. I have come to use NR selectively, but the luminance trick will be useful on noisy subjects where I want to keep detail.

6. cosilver

cosilver Guest