NX baloons my files in printer queue

Discussion in 'Printers, Monitors, and Color Management' started by gaperklake, Jun 22, 2007.

1. gaperklake

gaperklake

Mar 27, 2007
    Reno, NV
    Hello All,

Thank you so much for your help, ideas and guidance.

I've been communicating with Nikon tech support about this for two weeks now....

I have an HP C 5180 All-in-one printer. It works well with all print jobs I send it, and it functions properly with all of my software - expect NX. (I really like NX, though it's slow and clunky and I'm still learning it.) The prints themselves are fine. The PROBLEM is (and remains unsolved by Nikon) is that every file I print ends up 272 MBs in the print queue - which, of course, requires a long time to print - and printer failures because of the size. Regardless of the actual file size, the print size becomes 272 MB (RAW). (JPEGs also inflate.) This doesn't happen in LR, PE5 or any other software including Word, Excel, etc.

I have a PC and run XP.

Thank you again - for everything,

Guy

2. billg71

billg71

May 4, 2007
    Atlanta, GA
    Funny how things come up...

I've been setting up printer profiles all afternoon and printing with Lightroom, PSE 5, and NX.... Other than the usual mish-mash of changing settings, paper profiles, etc. I haven't had a problem. I've certainly never noticed a problem like yours with NX.

I use an HP 7360, run XP Pro, so our setups are basically similar. but I've never seen this come up....

AAHAH!! Elementary, my dear Watson! :biggrin::biggrin: Try resizing your files to a native resolution for your print size....

Go into Edit - Size/Resolution - Change the File Size - and play around with width and height until you come up with the print size in inches you want. For 5x7, it's 1406 x 2100. Then print your file while watching the printer queue to see what your file size to the printer goes to.