NX2:Gen - Commands - Opacity mixer

Discussion in 'Nikon Capture and View NX' started by mikhailr, Jul 1, 2008.

1. mikhailr

mikhailr Guest

I am a photographer enthusiast. Trying to get better image quality I shoot in RAW exclusively. My main post processing software is Capture NX(2). I already have "The Photographer's Guide to Capture NX" by Jason P. Odell and have recently got his NX2 guide. It is very good source of information but for me it is not enough. I believe one cannot get the best results if one don't understand what he/she is doing.
    Following Jason's recommendation I ordered "Real World Color Management" by Bruce Fraser, Fred Bunting and Chris Murphy in hope it helps me to get better control over image colors.
    But there is (at least) one more thing I do not understand at all. I mean controlling of effect applying by "Opacity Mixer" and choosing right blending mode in particular (p. 128 of "The Photographer's Guide to Capture NX2"). I believe one of the reason I cannot understand this is I don't understand how such things as unshurp mask, noise reduction, Gaussian blur, etc... work.

Couldn't anybody recommend me a book or another source of informations which describe in more details how such things as unshurp mask, noise reduction, Gaussian blur, etc... work and how they are effected by opacity and blending options.

Thank you, Mikhail.

2. Mikhail, I can't help you much aboout third-party resources but I can suggest using the help screens. As an example, if you want to learn the details of Unsharp Mask, conduct a search on that term and study the resulting help screens. Some of the help screens are truly helpful and I acknowledge that some of them are not.

Also check out the resources sticky thread at the top of the Capture NX forum. There is so much good stuff there that I can't remember the details of its contents.