NX2 or CS3 or Both?

Discussion in 'Retouching and Post Processing' started by Jason, Sep 15, 2008.

1. Jason

Jason

Aug 15, 2008
    St. Louis, MO
    I am learning slowly but surely on PP. I have been thinking about NX2 but also CS3. I have read on this fine forum that one software does things better than the other on some things. So with that said, is it wise to buy both or would one do the processing needed? NX2 is cheaper...but in no way do I mean to infer its inferior, I am no authority on either. I have limited experience with Capture NX (my trail just ran out today), and have got to play with CS2 on my brothers system. I am willing to purchase both if the end product will be better (dependent on my knowledge of the software). I would appreciate any feedback on this. Thanks in advance.

2. AgilityIG

AgilityIG

May 13, 2008
    Iowa
    Others will probably have more to say, but my vote is both. Both programs are fantastic, but are two different critters :biggrin:. I use NX (I need to update to 2) to process my raw files and then use CS3 for "fixing" things or doing storyboards, text, etc...

3. That sounds about right Marsha, two different beasts. PSCS3 is a pixel editing programme mainly and raw processors like NX2 or Lightroom aren't, they are raw processors first and foremost.
    For interoperability I believe that a LR/PS combination would work best.

4. This I didn't know! So for a rookie, what's it mean if I used say, CS2 for a RAW NEF and save as jpeg? Is it not going to be as good of quality? Or will it be such a small difference that I won't be able to tell?

5. John, what I was meaning is that PS is primarily designed to work with changing pixels. To save your work when finished will generally not allow for going backwards as all alterations are written to the file in some form or another. PS uses ACR to covert raw (NEF) files for use.