Old Film Camera lens and digital compatibility

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by WilliamIII, Apr 8, 2007.

1. WilliamIII

WilliamIII Guest

I have one AF 35-105 Nikon Lens 1:3.5-4.5 and one one AF Nikon ED 70-300 1:4-5.6D

I understand that both will fit and operate with automatic focusing on the newest Nikon digital SLRs, are there any issues I should be aware of? I understand that the newer ED lens I have is more compatible with Digital but I am not sure why.

As you can see I am new to digital and do not yet own a Nikon digital camera. I was considering the D-200 but I have heard that that camera had some noise problems shooting at extreme low light level at 3200 ASA. Any advice on which camera is best for low light level work and how to reduce noise would be appreciated

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 13, 2007
  2. You may know this already by virtue of using Nikon film bodies, but just in case..... The 'AF' lenses use the older generation AF system using a lug in the camera body to control the lens' focus. The current AF-S generation lenses use ring motors in the lens body itself - a great improvement in speed. The AF lenses are slower and seem to 'hunt' more than the new stuff, but otherwise they will work fine in the new DSLR bodies. Either system is dependent on the sophistication of the the camera's AF sensor system, with the high-dollar cameras having the better sensor arrays.