Old Sunpak ringflash and D70

Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
9,033
Location
Clearwater, Florida
I have a Sunpak ringflash which I have used for years on my 8008. Unfortunately, my D70 will not fire this flash even in manual mode. Does anyone know how I can use this ringflash with my D70?

Thanks for any help.

mitch
 

fks

Joined
Apr 30, 2005
Messages
2,756
Location
sf bay area
hi mitch-

try this:

Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)


ricky


Mitchell said:
I have a Sunpak ringflash which I have used for years on my 8008. Unfortunately, my D70 will not fire this flash even in manual mode. Does anyone know how I can use this ringflash with my D70?

Thanks for any help.

mitch
 

fks

Joined
Apr 30, 2005
Messages
2,756
Location
sf bay area
hi mitchell-

sorry for the confusion, that's correct. you can use electrical tape or some similar insulator. i'm guessing that you have a nikon ttl module on the ring flash. the d-slr's don't do normal ttl, so when you hook up a ttl-only flash, the camera doesn't recognize it and refuses to fire the flash. isolating the ttl contacts will allow the flash to fire.

ricky

Mitchell said:
Pardon my ignorance, but what exactly do you mean by "isolate these contacts"? Do you want me to cover them?
 
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
9,033
Location
Clearwater, Florida
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #5
Ricky,
That worked like a charm! This place is the greatest.

The only problem now is that I have to go completely manual with both the camera and the flash. Trial and error time, here I come.
 

fks

Joined
Apr 30, 2005
Messages
2,756
Location
sf bay area
hi mitch-

glad it worked for you :)

yeah, without i-ttl you're in manual flash exposure mode, but at least with digital you can check your exposure right after you take the shot and adjust if needed.

i think sigma has a new ring flash that can do i-ttl, but i haven't seen a review yet.

post some photos. i've thought about buying a ring flash but don't do macro often enough to justify it. i have two sb-800's and one day i'll get around to trying a dual flash setup for macro work.

ricky

Mitchell said:
Ricky,
That worked like a charm! This place is the greatest.

The only problem now is that I have to go completely manual with both the camera and the flash. Trial and error time, here I come.
 
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
9,033
Location
Clearwater, Florida
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #7
I'm an ear, nose, and throat doctor. My ring flash needs are primarily for taking shots inside the mouth. The ring flash is really the only way to illuminate that space.

Personally, for all other macro needs, I don't really care for the ring flash. I find it provides a very flat lighting which leaves most shots looking dull and uninteresting.
 

fks

Joined
Apr 30, 2005
Messages
2,756
Location
sf bay area
hi mitch-

post them anyway :wink: my brother-in-law is a periodontist. he uses a coolpix 950 for his photos from what i remember.

ricky

Mitchell said:
I'm an ear, nose, and throat doctor. My ring flash needs are primarily for taking shots inside the mouth. The ring flash is really the only way to illuminate that space.

Personally, for all other macro needs, I don't really care for the ring flash. I find it provides a very flat lighting which leaves most shots looking dull and uninteresting.
 
Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Nikon Cafe is a fan site and not associated with Nikon Corporation.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2005-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom