1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Olympics Equestrian Jumping Final - many photos

Discussion in 'Sports Photography' started by Phil K, Aug 21, 2008.

1. I went to the final yesterday and it's a great experience. After consulting Don, I decided to us the 80-400VR with the D3. It's my first try at equestrian so I didn't know what to do. Shooting at night was not easy and I was saved by the high ISO ability of the D3. All are shot in M-mode with auto ISO.

original.

original.

original.

original.

original.

#6 Oops, 4 faults
    original.

#7 Another fault.
    original.

#8 I like the design of this fence.
    original.

#9 Look at the spread of this fence. Those horses were magnificent.
    original.

#10 This fault cost him the bronze medal.
    original.

#11 Silver medalists Rolf-Goran Bengtsson and Ninja of Sweden making a sharp turn during the jump-off.
    original.

#12 Gold medalists Eric Lamaze and Hickstead of Canada. A great pair.
    original.

original.

Thanks for looking. I still have lots of photos to process.

2. WOW, Phil!
    These are spectacular!
    Don gave you good advice.

Virginia
    aka beaucamera

3. senna

senna

Jan 6, 2007
    San Jose Ca.
    Excellent set Phil, you did very well on these.

4. MeSince83

MeSince83

Apr 3, 2008
    Brooklyn
    Do you know what range the ISO was? They looking really grainy for the D3. I don't think I've seen a D3 with this much grain (i.e. #5 & 11)

Besides that you have some superb shots! I didn't realize the horses jumped so hi.

5. The exif is included - #5: ISO 4000 & #11: ISO 3600.

Nice shots.

6. jaikdee

jaikdee

Feb 25, 2008
    Kingman, AZ
    Fantastic pictures. Love #3. You had a good position to get that head on shot. These are beautiful horses.
    Janet