opinions needed for the 18-200VR as a walkaround...

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by static808, Sep 28, 2008.

1. greetings everyone! i'm excited as this is my first post in the lens section! anywho, i'm currently a canon shooter that is ready to switch kits, from the 20D to the D300. here is my situation: i dont shoot for a living, nor ever intend to, but definitely wouldnt MIND having pro-level IQ (not necessary though since i dont intend to print beyond 13x19). my subject matter is mainly my family, and archiving the daily lives of my 2 daughters. i find myself shooting 75% mostly indoors, be it at home or at their respective school/activity centers. for those indoor shots, i intend to use the nikkor 35 2.0 or 85 1.8. now my dilemma comes for their outdoor activities. i've narrowed my choices down to either a combination of the 16-85VR/70-700VR, or the 18-200VR.

given that these lenses would take only up to 25% of my shots, is it worth the extra money AND time to switch out lenses to get the 16-85/70-300 combo? please keep in mind that i never intend to shoot these lenses wide open (as opposed to my primes), and will use them as outdoor sunny day f7.1-f11 lenses, which should keep all 3 of these lenses in their sweet spot. any experience regarding the IQ, AF speed and accuracy, and general handling of these lenses would be GREATLY appreciated. thanks again!!

--B

ps: currently my canon lens kit consists of a 50 1.8, 85 1.8 and 24-70L. my primes are more than usable wide open, but even my "L" lens' sweet spot is around f4.5-f6.3, so im accustomed to using zooms stopped down for both IQ and more DOF...

2. Well, of course their is a trade-off between IQ and convenience. The 16-85/70-300VR combo will certainly be sharper, but if you are shooting with the 16-85, how often will you switch to the 70-300 to get in closer? With the 18-200, all you have to do is twist the zoom ring.