Opinions please

Discussion in 'Landscapes, Architecture, and Cityscapes' started by Andyc, May 6, 2007.

1. Andyc

Andyc

Nov 6, 2006
    South Wales UK
    This is my first attempt at something other than animals and flowers.
    It's of an aquaduct carrying a canal over a small river. I think the composition is ok (maybe I should crop the bottom) but not sure about the colours. The photo in just resized without cropping or adjustments.

aquaduct1.

Any suggestions are most welcome.

Best regards
    Andy

2. Wish the water was running a little higher for you, to cover those twigs and mud. Really like the green in the bottom left corner, it'd almost be a shame to crop the bottom but it just might need it.
    Can't help but wonder what the horizontal shot would look like.

Very pleasing image overall, except for the twigs. Just my 2 cents.

3. Gale

Gale

Jan 26, 2005
    Viera Fl
    Well here is my vision.
    I like it all but the blown out sky.
    That could be replaced. or cropped.
    I care for the forground because I can see me tromping over the rocks to water and looking for things that may be in the forground:>))))
    Another thing I like is the water is NOT smooth. So I can see and hear it:>))
    Like a little adventure:>))

Boy don't we all see diffeent:>))))

Nice image

4. Nice rural shot but the foreground detritus is distracting. My guess is that the sky may be recoverable if shot in RAW.

Try a horizontal crop to remove the foreground. You still get the benefit of the startling green in the japanese knotweed.

5. I'd have cropped out the mud and rocks on the bottom, just to where the water starts. Otherwise a nice peaceful shot.

Rich

6. Bob Coutant

Bob Coutant Moderator Moderator

May 17, 2005
    Pleasantville Ohio
    Andy, if this were a poll, I'd vote for what Gale said -- word-for-word. I like the touch of reality in the lower third of the image. However, I'm guessing that most people would have cropped it out.

7. biggstr6

biggstr6