1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Optical zoom questions

Discussion in 'General Technical Discussion' started by DFRI, Jul 29, 2007.

1. DFRI

DFRI

Jul 21, 2007
    Rhode Island
    Sorry for such a novice question. How would I figure out what the optical zoom is for a lens? I am very new to cameras in general, and looking to get my first SLR.
    Currently I have a Canon A70 with 3X optical zoom. Then I bought a tele-converter lens for it (TC-DC52) 2.4x. What does that lens change the zoom to?? 7.2????

I am most likely going to buy a D50 body only and a seperate lens, but how does one figure out what the zoom is on a lens?

Thanks, and sorry for the novice questions to you people who know so much. Trying to learn.

2. Baywing

Baywing

Feb 22, 2005
    CT USA
    Zoom ratios are usually not used when referring to SLRs and DSLRs. In this area, only the focal lengths are used as they are a much more accurate way of communicating the properties of a lens. A 3x zoom only tells us that the long focal length is 3 times the short focal length, but doesn't tell us what those are. The consumer digicams (and camcorders) seem to like to tell us how much zoom range they have, versus what actual focal lengths they have.
    As an example, a Nikon 75-300 AF zoom would be a 4x zoom (75mm x 4= 300mm), a 70-210 would be a 3x. But! A 35-105 is also a 3x, so to say a zoom is 3x could apply equally correctly to the 70-210 or the 35-105. This is why DSLR lenses are referred to by their focal length, that way we know exactly what we are talking about.