organizing photos

Discussion in 'General Technical Discussion' started by akumalic, Aug 26, 2008.

1. Interested to hear what you all do/use to organize your photos. I've been archiving them all onto DVD for several years now and didn't do much labeling the first few years. Now I'm trying to tackle re-organizing 100,000+ images (I never deleted anything before :eek: ).

I'm currently using iPhoto, but it's crapped out on me about 1/4 of the way thru (several weeks of working nights on this). Now I pretty much have to start over.

Any thoughts or ideas are much appreciated.

2. rsprouse

rsprouse

Jan 25, 2006
    Encinitas CA
    DAM (Digital Asset Management) is a big topic and I don't pretend to be an expert, but I'll share a little about where I am with it. Over the past few years I have made a few attempts to get my arms around it, and have purchased and tried several programs to help, including Bridge in Photoshop, Nikon View, Photo Mechanic, and iView Media Pro (now MS Expression Media).

Most recently I learned about IDimager and bought it. This is the first time I have felt like I have a tool I can live with indefinitely. It is powerfule, flexible and complex, yet I find I can use it comfortably. After the previous aborted attempts to get organized, I am finally making some real progress at DAM. I think this is a robust, "industrial strength" solution that you can't outgrow, and the author is extremely helpful and supportive.

I also bought the Controlled Vocabulary Keyword Catalog so that I can establish consistency in my keyword assignments. It is overkill for a hobbyist, but I wanted to feel I am doing this "right," for once and for all. I guess that's my compulsive side showing.

Hope this helps.

-- Russ

3. Another vote for Mediapro/Expressions Media. Especially since MS and Nikon are now technology partners, there may be some integration there.

Sean

4. Pesto126

Pesto126

Apr 13, 2006
    Northeast USA