Oshkosh disaster.....

Discussion in 'Transportation' started by GBRandy, Aug 3, 2008.

1. GBRandy

GBRandy

Feb 28, 2006
    Green Bay, WI
    Many of you know I am a pilot and the annual EAA Airventure event is a big deal as it is 45 minutes south of my house. Normally I attend this event with my father and we look over all things new and exciting in the world of aircraft, avionics and all other things flying related.

My wife and daughter will attend the airshow portion if the weather is just so....but it is a rare occurrence.

So THIS year my father was out of town...weather was too hot for the airshow and I was able to get things tidied up on Friday to bug out at noon..... I was going to the show solo...so I grabbed the gear... 300 f2.8, 700-210, 24-70, 12-24 1.4 converter, tripod and the ugly Canon MKIIn.

Now...if you are still with me...this story begins to take on a twist. Arriving at Oshkosh afternoon means parking a mile away. So I lugged all my gear in despite the 87 degree temps. I pay my fees and head on in. It is hot and I am sweating.

But wait....I now recall that that I had collected a dust bunny on my sensor earlier in the week. So I sit down at a table and get out the bulb blaster to clean off the sensor quick.

I remove the lens, set the camera to sensor cleaning and open the shutter. I blast and take a look inside to see how I did....as I peer into the exposed sensor a small bead of sweat drops from my forehead directly onto the sensor....splat....damn. That's not good.

Here is what it looks like:

[​IMG]

So my day was a downer before it started. I decided to shoot just a few images as I knew the images would be toast....and get home early enough to clean up the sensor and go out to dinner.....

Below was my best attempt to keep the F stop wide open and minimize the effect of my biological experiment growing on my sensor.....so no comments on the bugger on the images please....wait until next year!