Ospreys Ospreys and more Ospreys

Real Name
Randy
These are from last Thursday, my 1st day out this year on Lake Norman North Carolina. In previous years we have had 1-3 nests on shoal markers, this year I have already found 5 that are pretty close to the marina where I keep my boat, which is a good thing considering that gas will probably top $5 a gallon this year. Birds on Lake Norman have increased every year in the last 6 years since I started shooting them with this year seemingly the biggest increase.

These were shot with a D300s + 300vr + 1.7TC.
Somedays it's hard to tell the 300vr + 1.7 from the 500mm and I have to check to be sure (I wish the 300vr + 1.7 would show as 510mm:smile:)
EXIF should be attached.

Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

Great shots Randy. Wish I had an Osprey location...but alas their numbers are in decline here in Missouri. Glad I can view shots like these to tide me over!

Very nice work Randy. Sounds like you have a real hot spot to shoot at down there. Will not be long before the local pair near me start showing up. There are 2 nests, never know which of the 2 they will actually use, and one is really close, I hope this is the one they choose again this year (as they have for the last 2 seasons) Again, well done. I always enjoy the nest tending images.

Great Shots Randy. I am looking forward to photographing these guys this year. Hope mine turn out as good as yours.

Michael

Super set Randy. All I can hope for is that our ospreys will return to the old nest site. It has been three years since we got super close osprey shots.