1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Ospreys Ospreys and more Ospreys

Discussion in 'Birds' started by Randy, Mar 23, 2011.

1. These are from last Thursday, my 1st day out this year on Lake Norman North Carolina. In previous years we have had 1-3 nests on shoal markers, this year I have already found 5 that are pretty close to the marina where I keep my boat, which is a good thing considering that gas will probably top $5 a gallon this year. Birds on Lake Norman have increased every year in the last 6 years since I started shooting them with this year seemingly the biggest increase.

These were shot with a D300s + 300vr + 1.7TC.
    Somedays it's hard to tell the 300vr + 1.7 from the 500mm and I have to check to be sure (I wish the 300vr + 1.7 would show as 510mm:smile:) 
    EXIF should be attached.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Looks Like you got a Good location Randy!!!

3. wonderful set!

4. Jason

Jason

Aug 15, 2008
    St. Louis, MO
    Great shots Randy. Wish I had an Osprey location...but alas their numbers are in decline here in Missouri. Glad I can view shots like these to tide me over!

5. NYracefan

NYracefan

Nov 19, 2008
    Highland,NY
    Very nice work Randy. Sounds like you have a real hot spot to shoot at down there. Will not be long before the local pair near me start showing up. There are 2 nests, never know which of the 2 they will actually use, and one is really close, I hope this is the one they choose again this year (as they have for the last 2 seasons) Again, well done. I always enjoy the nest tending images.

6. Beautiful set Randy ...
    I have to travel aways to find any known Osprey nests up here so you're very fortunate ...

ron

7. mbg914

mbg914

Oct 4, 2008
    Maryland