Panoramas

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rlacy, Apr 25, 2007.

1. rlacy

rlacy

Apr 22, 2007
    San Diego
    Not sure if this is the right place to post this, but I can't seem to find another forum that seems appropriate.

Tomorrow night I am joing a group of photographers here in San Diego to do a sunset of the SD skyline. Among other things I want to try to do some panoramas of the city. I will use my D2X to take the pictures and try stitching them together in Photoshop CS2. Can anyone give me some guidelines for setting up my camera and lens for this shoot. For example:

• Manual focus or auto
    • White balance auto or other
    • Exposure on manual or one of the auto settings?
    • How to level the camera and lens?
    Since I have never done this before any advice would be appreciated.
    Thanks in advance.

2. RFCGRAPHICS

RFCGRAPHICS

Apr 30, 2005

Some suggestions...

*Manual or auto focus...does not matter as long as your main subject is in focus.

*tripod if you can. If not use gridlines in your viewfinder for maintaining level

*shoot raw

*set wb (although you can use awb and then set wb for all your frames when you process). You want to have the same wb for all frames.

*fixed manual exposure. All frames of your stitch should have the same exposure settings.

*Focal lengths depend on the scene. When I shoot, mainly use 35-200mm.

Personal opinion, the stitch engine in CS2 is very weak. There are better programs out there for stitching panoramas. I currently use Ptgui.

Hope this helps...good luck !

Regards

RFC

3. I'll second the recommendation for PTGui - best I've found so far and I've been doing panos for a number of years, of course, not at the same rate as Robert! :Shocked: You don't need to worry about keeping the camera level if using PTGui, it'll straighten out each shot and it even adjusts exposures (but, as Robert says, you're best to deal with that in-camera).