Parallels vs VMware

Discussion in 'Apple/Mac' started by Minuteman3, Aug 1, 2008.

1. I've been using Boot Camp on my MacBook for several months now to use Windows Vista on this fine bit of Apple hardware. I suppose my usage is about 80% Vista vs 20% Mac OS.

Due to some space limitations, I'm considering a iMac as a replacement desktop. Again, I'll need to spend most of my time in Vista (it is, after all, my work!!). However, I am trying to learn Aperture and several other Mac applications so I think I'd like to have quicker access to the Mac OS.

If I decide to get an iMac, I'm thinking of using either Parallels or VMWare's Windows software instead of Boot Camp on the iMac

Paul Thurott, an on-line Windows guru whom I respect (he also dabbles in Macs on occasion) highly recommends VMWare.

Any thoughts on which of these three (Boot Camp, Parallels, VMWare) have served you the best? (I must say I have no real complaints about Boot Camp ... but I'd like to eliminate the reboots into Mac OS or back to Vista if I don't take much of a performance hit.)

Thanks in advance ...

Ken

2. Ken, I run VMWare because Parallels wouldn't run on my 8-core Mac Pro. I love it. I believe the beta version of VMWare 2.0 is on the site if you want to give it a test run. I run 1.0 and it does everything that I could ask of it without issue.

3. dwind

dwind Guest

Try virtualbox. Runs great on a macpro.

4. I'm running Parallels/XPPro on a MacPro. I use a Windows DAM (IDImager) for screening images and Mac/NX2 for post processing. Parallel permits reading and writing to the image files on my Mac drive. Each Windows application runs in a separate resizable window on the Mac. I have not used the other two packages.