Pbase and EXIF question......

Joined
Jan 29, 2005
Messages
33,640
Location
St. George, Utah
Kind of neat information Lisa, I have never noticed that before. I am going to have to go check some of my images out. Sorry, can't help you with your question.

Well, I just checked out a whole bunch of my images, including macro shots and no distance data was listed.
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2005
Messages
963
Location
Southeast Texas
Very interesting information, Lisa. I checked a bunch of my photos at pbase and none have that information included. Perhaps it's something unique to the D70. I use a D2H and D100. Sorry I couldn't help with your question.
 
Joined
May 3, 2005
Messages
1,777
Location
IL
Hi Gordon:

Thanks for the reply. I couldn't find one single thing those two images had in common. Both were uploaded on different days, one used a flash, one didn't, different lenses. I was stumped and for awhile there, I thought it may have been an added feature but images uploaded since do not show this value.

There was also an occasion where I actually had an ISO value for another image and never again. :roll:
 
Joined
May 11, 2005
Messages
17,640
Location
Chicago, IL
I checked my Pbase gallery and could not find the focal distance box filled in with any numerics. I have no idea why they would have the criteria there without any data.
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2005
Messages
2,296
Location
Ohio & Florida
Hi Lisa,

A lot of the EXIF information on the original image is lost in post processing. Resizing in Photoshop wipes out ISO information for the D-70 and D-100.
Is it possible that the two images you have information on were either original images right out of the camera or processed in some unusual (for you) way?
Just a guess,
Bob
 
Joined
May 3, 2005
Messages
1,777
Location
IL
Hi Bob:

What I always do is curves or levels and resize but NOT for the web initially. I do this so the EXIF data can be uploaded. Then, if the image is over 100KB, for dial-up people and pseudo DSL customers (like myself), I take that same photo and replace the original so the EXIF is intact but the photo is then easier to view at the smaller size. The photo you see has been PP'd and web downsized but the EXIF belongs to that photo....did I confuse you? :?

I really don't know what happened, but it sure is interesting. I'm going to go back and look in Breezebrowser and see if this field shows up somewhere. Thank you for your thoughts!

Hi Frank: Thanks for checking your galleries. I was just wanting to see if there's something I did or can do to get this information. Seems to be some kind of fluke but I've been meaning to ask 8)
 
P

papa85

Guest
Same here Lisa,

I checked out my Pbase and no distance shows up.
Buy the way I just bought a Sigma 105mm 2.8 EX DG macro lens, I will probably be asking you for help. Your bugs are the greatest. lol :D
 
Joined
May 3, 2005
Messages
1,777
Location
IL
Hi Tony!

Thanks for your reply and thanks for the compliments! I will help in any way that I can....We have the same bugs as we are only about 25 or so miles from each other :) And you've got a good lens there. I went for the 60mm because it was good AND inexpensive compared to the others. But have you noticed the lack of bugs around because of the lack of rain? I had lots more to choose from last year and I can barely find a bee these days :cry:
 
Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Nikon Cafe is a fan site and not associated with Nikon Corporation.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Forum GIFs powered by GIPHY: https://giphy.com/
Copyright © Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom