Peachy

Last year, our peach trees were hit by a late spring freeze:frown:, so I was quite happy yesterday to gather evidence for the promise of this year’s bounty:smile:. [The colors of these blossoms vary from almost white to deep pink – I chose to go with this aggressive pink one.]

DSC_2179sm.jpg
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

Bob,

I like the image. It looks like you achieved a perfect exposure as I can see detail in the petals of the flower under what seems like challenging lighting conditions for such a shot.

Glenn

Thanks Glenn -- I didn't show you some other trial exposures of the same blossom:wink:. Actually, a tripod is an absolute necessity [for me] for this kind of shot, and it helps to use either a timed shutter release or a remote shutter release. [I got lucky when the breeze hesitated too.]

Oh I Like that pink!!! It is spectacular. It's truly spring in a click.
I am just learning about bokeh so I am wondering what lens and how wide open was it?

Cheers
Barb
(PS it snowing again... :-]] oh well last week we had a moderate forest fire hazard and a fire ban. so I am having spring moments vicariously)

Oh I Like that pink!!! It is spectacular. It's truly spring in a click.
I am just learning about bokeh so I am wondering what lens and how wide open was it?

Cheers
Barb
(PS it snowing again... :-]] oh well last week we had a moderate forest fire hazard and a fire ban. so I am having spring moments vicariously)
Thanks Barb -- I'm glad you enjoyed it. [I saw your "ducky" post with the snow -- this makes for quite a contrast:smile:.]

As for the shooting data, the complete EXIF is embedded in the file. If you don't have Opanda(it's free) or the equivalent to read to EXIF, I was using the 300 f/4 at f/8. With a shooting distance of only ~ 6ft., the DOF was less than 0.5 in. [The EXIF won't tell you thatI used a tripod and a timed delay on the shutter release to minimize camera movement.]