People cropping YOUR images when purchasing prints -- Good Idea?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by stayathomedad, Sep 14, 2008.

1. stayathomedad

stayathomedad

Mar 11, 2008
    Alaska
    I just purchased a zenfolio account and had a interesting conversation with my wife.

I was showing her how I can restrict what products/prints people purchase for different galleries.

Since I crop all my family/friends/wedding images to 4x6, I was considering removing the options to purchase images at different sizes (such as 5x7). This way I can restrict how my images are cropped and not have to worry about some random person doing a bad crop job on my photos.

My wife's argument is that she REALLY enjoys the freedom of selecting, say a 5x7 print, if that's what she needs/wants. If she already has found a beautiful frame for an image, it's a hassle to be restricted to just 4x6 prints...

Mind you, I'm not trying to make a living off my photography and I'm not a pro's pro... So the idea of someone taking a 4x6 and cropping off the sides a bit to make it a 5x7 isn't that scary... but that control is an issue... some yahoo taking a 4x6 and cropping it square (say a 8x8) will require THEM NOT ME making the artistic decision of how the print comes out...

THOUGHTS?

2. DanWhite

DanWhite

Jul 10, 2005
    Lansdale PA
    The biggest issue I have had was preople not cropping. I upload everything cropped to 8x10. People would not use the crop tool, order say a 5x7 and the head gets partially cut off etc.

Dan

3. I put a proof delay on my SmugMug account so that I can make sure all images are cropped properly for the ordered size prior to printing and shipping.

4. stayathomedad

stayathomedad

Mar 11, 2008
    Alaska

Thats pretty funny...

There are three options that I can choose for people... center, fit, and manual...