Photo Evolves Into Art (long - lotsa pics)

I'm frequently amazed at how differently a given group of people see the exact same image. We often get caught up in the technicalities of our photos, and I think it's fair to say that sometimes we "can't see the forest for the trees" in our own shots. This was brought home to me in a big way in 2003 after I posted a particular scenic shot, and I'll describe here what happened. It was a very humbling experience.

While on a trip to West Virginia in 2003, I stopped at Babcock State Park on my way back to the hotel one evening to see if there was any hope of getting a shot of the Glade Creek Grist Mill. It's one of the most-photographed scenes in the area, and as a beginner I thought I'd try my hand at something fairly easy. It was about 5:30pm, early October, and unfortunately the skies were mostly cloudy -- the light was flat and dull for the most part.

I found the mill, quickly scoped out the angle I wanted, and decided on a long exposure to get that hazy smoothness in the water lapping over the rocks in the stream. I ended up getting several shots, but the high contrast between the dark mill and the (relatively) bright sky were too much for the scene. (Technical side note: I now know that either using a Graduated Neutral Density filter or taking multiple shots with varying exposure and combining the well-exposed parts of each would have been the proper thing to do. But I didn't know it at the time...)

So anyway, I packed up my gear and didn't get a chance to really look at the shots until I returned home from the trip (no laptop available). Plus, this was back before I had any idea what I was looking at with histograms. When I saw the result, my reaction was pretty typical for that time period: "Wow. Too dark. That's not what I saw! How did that happen??" What I had hoped to be a reasonably good shot was quite a bit worse than I was expecting. Since we're all about pictures at the Cafe, here's what I saw out-of-camera: