Photo Mechanic

Joined
May 1, 2006
Messages
2,150
Certainly none of the programs I've ever used do that.
No program can take any action when it is not open but note that when you install programs, many of them also install helpers (daemons) that run in the background whenever the computer is booted.

These daemons are typically used to detect events, e.g., plugging in a card reader, and to trigger an action, e.g., launching the main program, when such events are detected.
 
Joined
Sep 13, 2007
Messages
14,005
Location
Northern VA suburb of Washington, DC
No program can take any action when it is not open but note that when you install programs, many of them also install helpers (daemons) that run in the background whenever the computer is booted.

These daemons are typically used to detect events, e.g., plugging in a card reader, and to trigger an action, e.g., launching the main program, when such events are detected.
Thanks for explaining that. I had never heard of it.
 

Growltiger

Administrator
Administrator
Joined
Apr 26, 2008
Messages
12,407
Location
Up in the hills, Gloucestershire, UK
I'd like to get clarity about programs that "open" automatically to ingest the contents of a memory card once it is inserted into the card reader. I'm taking that to mean that if the program is on the computer system but is not running, it automatically loads rather than requiring the user to click anything to load it. Is my understanding correct?

I've never heard of a program doing that. Certainly none of the programs I've ever used do that. What programs do it?
The program does not need to be running, or have a "daemon" running.

The ability to automatically open a program when something happens such as inserting media, is a feature built into Windows called AutoPlay.
What happens after the program opens depends on the program. For example it might play a DVD that you insert in a drive. Or it might ingest photos.

To understand this, and find which programs you have installed that can do this for a camera card, go to Control Panel (the traditional one, not Windows Settings), then Default Programs, then click on Change AutoPlay Settings.
Now under Camera Card, you will see Memory Card, and next to that is a pulldown. Open the pulldown and you may be surprised!
 
Joined
Sep 13, 2007
Messages
14,005
Location
Northern VA suburb of Washington, DC
Thanks, Richard!

To understand this, and find which programs you have installed that can do this for a camera card, go to Control Panel (the traditional one, not Windows Settings), then Default Programs, then click on Change AutoPlay Settings.
Now under Camera Card, you will see Memory Card, and next to that is a pulldown. Open the pulldown and you may be surprised!
I did that and the only programs listed that can import a photo are Lightroom 8, DropBox and Photo (perhaps that's an application I've never noticed that comes with Windows 10). I don't have Lightroom 8 installed on my system but I do have Lightroom CC installed, so maybe it means Lightroom Version 8 or later. Regardless, I wouldn't want to configure Lightroom 8 to import the images because I use Lightroom only for its Book module. I also wouldn't want to configure DropBox or Photo to make that happen.

I had never heard of Auto Play. Is there anything you don't know about an operating system?
 
Joined
May 1, 2006
Messages
2,150
The program does not need to be running, or have a "daemon" running.
AutoPlay as you describe it, is an arch typical daemon. It runs in the background, listens for events, e.g., insertion of media and takes actions based on those events e.g., trigger a third party program that has registered with it.
 

Growltiger

Administrator
Administrator
Joined
Apr 26, 2008
Messages
12,407
Location
Up in the hills, Gloucestershire, UK
Thanks, Richard!

I did that and the only programs listed that can import a photo are Lightroom 8, DropBox and Photo (perhaps that's an application I've never noticed that comes with Windows 10). I don't have Lightroom 8 installed on my system but I do have Lightroom CC installed, so maybe it means Lightroom Version 8 or later. Regardless, I wouldn't want to configure Lightroom 8 to import the images because I use Lightroom only for its Book module. I also wouldn't want to configure DropBox or Photo to make that happen.

I had never heard of Auto Play. Is there anything you don't know about an operating system?
Since you have Lightroom CC you should surely also have Adobe Bridge CC installed? That is the Adobe program I would expect you to use for this, and it would show up on that pulldown.
 
Joined
Sep 13, 2007
Messages
14,005
Location
Northern VA suburb of Washington, DC
Since you have Lightroom CC you should surely also have Adobe Bridge CC installed?
No, I have no need for Adobe Bridge, so I have never installed it.

My cataloging software (IDimager PhotoSupreme) is at the center of my photo workflow. Photos are ingested and culled in PhotoSupreme, then handed off from within PhotoSupreme directly to Photoshop/ACR, then saved to the computer system, then cataloged using PhotoSupreme, and when I want to find a photo I use PhotoSupreme to make that happen. I also use PhotoSupreme to create slide shows viewed on my television. When I want to print a book, PhotoSupreme hands off the photos to be included in the book to Lightroom Classic CC.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 23, 2006
Messages
1,043
Location
Pennsylvania
I'd like to get clarity about programs that "open" automatically to ingest the contents of a memory card once it is inserted into the card reader. I'm taking that to mean that if the program is on the computer system but is not running, it automatically loads rather than requiring the user to click anything to load it. Is my understanding correct?
Yes. I'm not sure it's that unusual. Just yesterday I inserted an audio cd into an older Mac laptop and it automatically loaded iTunes. I didn't want to load iTunes so I actually don't like when programs do that. I'm sure there's a preference somewhere.
 
Yes, in the Mac there is a preference so that the user can determine which programs will open when specific devices are used, such as Photos when one plugs in an SD card reader and so on. I think it is in Image Capture where one can pull up a menu and set it so that no software program opens up when one connects a memory card full of images or plugs in the camera itself. I'm not sure but I think the one for audio CDs and such is probably in the iTunes or Music preference settings, can't recall right now.
 
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
21,669
Location
SW Virginia
I found that I do still have an active copy of Fast Raw Viewer on this computer, but like Glenn and PM, I had stopped using it and forgotten that I still had it.

Comparing PM and FRV, I find that they perform about equally but FRV has more capabilities.
 
Joined
May 1, 2006
Messages
2,150
Comparing PM and FRV, I find that they perform about equally but FRV has more capabilities.
Probably depends on individual needs. Personally not so sure FRV has more capability over PM (It doesn't have the text substitution which is PM's strong USP) but FRV does hold its own when it comes to speed for review and culling. The text substitution thing is PM's forte and a strong one but one that is really only relevant to a certain subset of users (for such users, I can imagine it is gold).

Also, unlike many RAW tools that "cheat" by showing the embedded JPG files, FRV actually renders your RAW files and still manages to keep up on speed with, and surpass many, tools that merely load jpgs.

If you set it to mimic Adobe rendering, your preview will be similar to what you will see in Adobeware. This might be useful for those using Adobeware as the RAW tools that pull the internal jpgs will show the camera's rendering and they might see something a bit different when opening in LR or other Adobeware.
 
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
21,669
Location
SW Virginia
I'm trying out PM now and I have a problem seeing photos in full-screen view. When I double-click on a thumbnail image I get a pop-up small window with another small thumbnail view. I think I got a full-screen view when I first installed PM but I can't seem to get that now.

What am I doing wrong?
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2005
Messages
2,212
Location
Broussard, LA, USA
I did sometimes take large numbers of photos and I am pretty happy with free Nikon software. I can set backups, change to ingest with file names and with NX-I, input basic captions. rate with one keystroke and batch convert to JPEG, assuming I had time to convert before posting. If I didn't, I would just shoot in JEG.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
11,988
Location
Central Georgia, USA
I'm trying out PM now and I have a problem seeing photos in full-screen view. When I double-click on a thumbnail image I get a pop-up small window with another small thumbnail view. I think I got a full-screen view when I first installed PM but I can't seem to get that now.

What am I doing wrong?
If you have not solved this yet Jim, just call them, they have very good customer service.
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2019
Messages
1,386
Location
St. Charles, IL
Real Name
Andy
I'm trying out PM now and I have a problem seeing photos in full-screen view. When I double-click on a thumbnail image I get a pop-up small window with another small thumbnail view. I think I got a full-screen view when I first installed PM but I can't seem to get that now.

What am I doing wrong?
Just noticed this question. If you select the pointer (arrow) cursor tool, you'll be able to double click on any thumbnail in grid view to get a larger preview, which can in turn be zoomed with the Z key. And the amount of zoom can be modified with a slider in the right sidebar. If you select the search (magnifying glass) cursor tool, a single click gives you a 100% crop of the vicinity selected spot on the thumbnail. Here's a screen shot showing where the two different cursors can be selected:
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
 
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
21,669
Location
SW Virginia
I did sometimes take large numbers of photos and I am pretty happy with free Nikon software. I can set backups, change to ingest with file names and with NX-I, input basic captions. rate with one keystroke and batch convert to JPEG, assuming I had time to convert before posting. If I didn't, I would just shoot in JEG.
If you have not solved this yet Jim, just call them, they have very good customer service.
Just noticed this question. If you select the pointer (arrow) cursor tool, you'll be able to double click on any thumbnail in grid view to get a larger preview, which can in turn be zoomed with the Z key. And the amount of zoom can be modified with a slider in the right sidebar. If you select the search (magnifying glass) cursor tool, a single click gives you a 100% crop of the vicinity selected spot on the thumbnail. Here's a screen shot showing where the two different cursors can be selected:
View attachment 1654026
Chris, Tom, and Andy: I would like to thank you all for reviving the thread and providing solutions to my problem. However, my 30-day free trial ended several weeks ago and I decided against buying it.
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2009
Messages
1,302
Location
Kitchener, ON
Jim, I was curious about something you had mentioned very early in this thread. One of the biggest features I like about View NX-i is its Transfer module. It has the ability to rename files according to my preferred format and place them into specified folders (also automatically created and named according to my preferred format). It can ignore photos that have already been ingested as well. I don't use it, but you can also add various Keywords that others were talking about at the same time. There may be faster and/or more powerful transfer utilities out there, but this one does the job for my needs and desires.

By using something else to bring in the photos from your cards, you seem to be ignoring a major capability in the software you have already been using. Just wondered if you have looked at this or if you had another reason for not using Transfer.
 

Latest posts

Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Nikon Cafe is a fan site and not associated with Nikon Corporation.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2005-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom