photo printer recommendations

B

bcampodallorto

I am in the market for a printer. Capability to do larger than 8 1/2 x 11 would be nice. Any suggestions?

HP B9180 or the newer 8850. The B9180 can be connected either USB or Ethernet, prints up to 13x19. Next step up Epson 3800 perhaps, or the Z series HP's. Some of the newer Canon's in that size range are very good as well.

I have had my B9180 for a couple of years now, still happy.

B

bcampodallorto

Thanks for the suggestions. I will research those printers mentioned. I think I will limit my paper size as A3(13x19) maximum. As an amateur, I don't think I would need anything more.

do be aware that you are unlikely to save any money by printing yourself and there is a steep learning curve to understand the process well enough to get results to match a good print lab. consider calibration tools in your budget along with the printer.

I am using a Canon iPF5100 which performs fabulously and comes with excellent drivers to control it. I calibrate it with a Spyder3 studio kit.

I had a HP B9180 which was a total disaster and was replaced and then bought back by HP. both units had multiple different manufacturing defects and output was never good enough. I would not recommend this printer for anyone/any purpose unless they did something terrible to the world and needed punishment.

I put together print set up to have complete control over the print process from media selection to when I can make them and I was ready to put in significant time to use all the equipment effectively.

I have an epson r1900 and even though I get some usable prints from it, I regret buying it. Epson refuses to allow Photoshop to control colors, and it's bloody few profiles they put into their drivers.
I much preferred Canon printers.

I have an epson r1900 and even though I get some usable prints from it, I regret buying it. Epson refuses to allow Photoshop to control colors, and it's bloody few profiles they put into their drivers.