Photo Printer...

Discussion in 'Other Cool Gear, Camera Bags, Camera Straps' started by shadow, Oct 19, 2005.

1. Was reading Popular Photography last night and they had a review of the $500 photo printers. Along with those they had "runners up" that were in the $199 to $299 range.

I'm no professional and am not looking to get into a "pro" type printer. But I would like the ability to print my own when I want and at my convenience. To top that off, My dad has an Oly P&S and my mom is always taking a disk to some store to get 4x6's printed off.

I'm looking for a reasonably priced photo printer that is capable of printing 8x10's on occaision but will generate quality 5x7's and 4x6's. Can anyone tell me of their experience with the model they are currently using.

Thanks.

2. MontyDog

MontyDog

Jan 30, 2005
    #1064 - You have an error in your SQL syntax;

3. Baywing

Baywing

Feb 22, 2005
    CT USA
    I'm using an Epson R1800, Photo 1200 and Oly P440 dye sub. The Epsons are large format, 13' wide, the 1200 is long obsolete, the R1800 the newest. Personally, I like the look of the older dye based printers better.
    The Epson R300, 320 look decent given what you want to do. I like the Epsons, I've had 4 so far and been pleased with all of them.
    The single most important thing for getting acceptable prints is to calibrate your monitor. I resisted for years and was very lucky in that the 1200 printed great out of the box, the drivers only needed a slight tweak which was easy. The R1800 is a different story, but is much better now that my monitor is properly calibrated. The smaller version, the R800, has the pigmented inks, which, while more permanent, don't have the same zip as the dye-based inks.
    Just my opinions.

4. RNeal

RNeal

Oct 15, 2005
    Tennessee
    I second the Epson R800/R1800 (I have the R1800). They use the same ink, the R800 is good for up to 8.5X11 and the R1800 can print up to 13X19 (or longer for panos).