Photographing Cicadas.

Discussion in 'Macro, Flowers, Insects, and Greenery' started by camerapapi, Oct 2, 2008.

1. I have never photographed Cicadas before. I was in my garden photographing flowers when this Cicada landed by my side. I removed the camera from the tripod, set it to aperture priority f5.6 and ISO 400. I moved almost 180 degrees from my original position. I decided to act fast so I hand held the camera, something I do not do often.
    I took several shots and this was probably one of the best. It was interesting for me to see the insect moving its face erratically and jerking the body at times. If that is a normal behaviour this time of year for them, I do not really know. It was cooler than it has been here in South Florida.

Insect.jpg

Old D1X
    Old 105 f4 AIS Micro Nikkor.
    Old photographer.

William Rodriguez
    Miami, Florida.

2. um..............I dont think thats a cicada.....................in my professional opinion........(I am a crane operator) ..........its a dragonfly.....lol........
    but nice pic!

3. Chris G

Chris G

Sep 12, 2007
    Ohio, USA
    I do like the pic too - but this is what we call a cicada here in ohio

308398522_UQGmX-O.jpg

4. Nice shot of a Dragonfly!

I really don´t know what you mean by these: "moving its face erratically and jerking the body". But they do move their heads to see what is going on around them. But I have also seen a few times a Dragon whose head trembled like it had an epileptic seazure (which it probably isn´t) and then they are just fine. I don´t know what they are doing...streching their muscles, perhaps? :smile:

Jerking the body? Hmmm... what I have seen and what I think you maybe meant is basically cleaning themselfs, especially if this "jerking" had something to do with its abdomen (tail). There are some important organs there...

I think it´s a female Blue Dasher (Pachydiplax longipennis) you got...

5. Nice dragonfly :)