Photoshop CS2 and Mac's new Tiger. Any issues?

JAM

Joined
Apr 30, 2005
Messages
119
Location
Albuquerque, NM
I'm impressed with the new version of Photoshop, and my Tiger (Mac OS 10.4) is on the way. I've noticed that some applications have been updated for use with Tiger and am curious if anyone has noticed any issues with this combination?
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2005
Messages
7,818
Location
Gilroy, California
In general I think it is a good idea to have a bit of patience with .0 OSX releases. Two or more updates or so.

Unless you don't mind running into the inevitable problems.
 
Joined
May 24, 2005
Messages
300
Location
Salem, NH
I agree for most non-power users. I have always been a bleeding-edger...always the latest and greatest. Most of the time, there aren't any issues...if so, they are fixed pretty quickly. Obviously Adobe and Apple worked closely for the CS2 and Tiger releases.

Cheers,

C
 
D

dbirdsong

Guest
The biggest problem I had was the 1.0 version of Bridge was snail slow... but the 1.01 is pretty good.
And make sure your at 10.4.1, tiger 10.4 wasn't quite ready for prime time when apple released it
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2005
Messages
128
Location
NJ & MD
I have both and I have actually noticed that CS2 has crashed maybe twice upon launch. I just relaunch and it's fine, but it kind of upset me that it happened at all. I switched to a Mac platform to avoid this. Oh well, I guess you can't have it all.
 
Joined
May 24, 2005
Messages
300
Location
Salem, NH
Mine hasn't crashed once...

What Mac? Any third-party RAM? Are you at 10.4.1 and Bridge 1.0.1? Have you tried repairing disk permissions?

C
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2005
Messages
128
Location
NJ & MD
Hi Cory,

Here's my info:

Adobe Photoshop Version: 9.0 (9.0x196)
Operating System: Mac OS 10.4.1
System architecture: PowerPC G4 with AltiVec
Physical processor count: 1
Processor speed: 1500 MHz
Built-in memory: 1280 MB
Free memory: 572 MB
Memory available to Photoshop: 1225 MB
Memory used by Photoshop: 70 %
Image cache levels: 6

OS X and Photoshop are both up to date. It's a Powerbook, which I just bought. I installed it on a clean system. It hasn't crashed lately, but it seems like it shouldn't ever have at all.
 
Joined
May 24, 2005
Messages
300
Location
Salem, NH
I think it might have been due to disk permissions. Did you run Disk Utility and Repair Disk Permissions after installing CS2? If not, sometimes the permissions on apps can be incorrect after install, and can cause the app to crash.

If it only crashed once or twice right after installation, it should be rock solid now.

C
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2005
Messages
128
Location
NJ & MD
I never ran the utility. You see, I'm new to the Mac platform and haven't picked up the nuances. Anyways, thank you very much for the tips, I appreciate it!
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2005
Messages
7,818
Location
Gilroy, California
Obviously Adobe and Apple worked closely for the CS2 and Tiger releases.
I wouldn't count on that. Each company is motivated by what's in front of their nose. Adobe would have fussed over Tiger, but Apple was busy just getting Tiger done.

There are almost always sweet spots in stability. That is where I like to live when it comes to using a computer. For me this means separate machines as I actually work on the things we are talking about.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2005
Messages
35,168
Location
Arizona
Real Name
Chris
Cory Cooper said:
Chris,

I haven't had any issues with third-party plug-ins yet...have you?

C
The only 3P plugin I use is Grain Surgery. I don't use it that often, but in the dozen or so times I have with this combination, it has worked flawlessly.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2005
Messages
35,168
Location
Arizona
Real Name
Chris
mf44 said:
I never ran the utility. You see, I'm new to the Mac platform and haven't picked up the nuances. Anyways, thank you very much for the tips, I appreciate it!
Hi Mike,

It isn't that applications never crash on a Mac, they do. It's that an application crash does not effect the system nor any other applications, so you can just re-run the offending program, and all is good.

Actually any UNIX system works like that, because application memory is protected. A program cannot address memory outside of it's own allotment.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2005
Messages
35,168
Location
Arizona
Real Name
Chris
dbirdsong said:
The biggest problem I had was the 1.0 version of Bridge was snail slow... but the 1.01 is pretty good.
And make sure your at 10.4.1, tiger 10.4 wasn't quite ready for prime time when apple released it
Thanks Dave. I was unaware of Bridge 1.0.1. I'ma gonna go get it now.

Is any software ever rfpt when released?
 

Latest posts

Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Nikon Cafe is a fan site and not associated with Nikon Corporation.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2005-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom