Photoshop Newbie Has Questions

Discussion in 'General Technical Discussion' started by Chris C, May 11, 2005.

1. Okay, I have to admit I'm about 2 notches below PhotoShop 101. :oops:
    I am really an amateur with it. I have PhotoShop 7.0 and have just been given a zip-file for Velvia. Only problem I have is I don't have the slightest idea how to get it into my PS program. I'm really new at all this computer stuff and need someone who has the patience to walk me through the process, step by step. Any patient teachers out there?

2. Chris, PM me your phone number and i'll take you thru it

3. Hi, Chris.

Aside from Sandi walking you through, you might find this site of help for getting up-to-speed w/ PS -- it does assume you have some basic knowledge of photography though.

http://epaperpress.com/psphoto/

I suspect what you have their is just a file for applying a Velvia curve adjustment in PS. If so, after you unzip the file into an easily accessible location (eg. My Document folder) and opened up your photo file in PS, you should be able to load the curve adjustment via Image -> Adjust -> Curves -> Load. There are other more complicated ways you can use the curve adjustment, eg. via layers.

Most of this stuff are covered to some extent in the above tutorial site. The use of a Velvia curve on a color photo would be like the use of one of the classic tone curves on a B&W photo found on that site (under the B&W section).

If what you actually have there is a PS action, well, I guess Sandi will walk you through that as that site doesn't seem to explicitly touch on how to use actions -- though it offers some. If you want a tutorial on actions (and some free actions to try out too), you might try this old page set up by a DPR forum member a long while back:

http://www.geocities.com/kafuensis/

Hope all this helps ya...

_Man_

4. RFCGRAPHICS

RFCGRAPHICS

Apr 30, 2005
    Hi Chris.....