Photoshop/Workflow Questions

Real Name
Mike
Hi All. My name is Mike and I am an image hoarder. Just filled another 2TB drive in my desktop. I already have 10TBs of external drives. So, I need to change the way I cull and save images. I pretty much know what I have to do to reduce the number of files I have been saving. It will be a daunting task.

I am using Photoshop CS5 Student and Teacher Edition. It is not up-gradable so I can't even load the newest Photoshop Camera Raw files to convert images. This means I convert everything to .tif to open in Photoshop. I have thousands of 200-400 MB .tif files.

My first question is: What are the major differences between Photoshop CS5 and the current Creative Cloud version? I'm no expert but know my way around CS5 for my purposes.

Second question: What is the difference between the $20.99 a month Photoshop subscription and the $9.99 a month Photography subscription that includes Photoshop and Lightroom? Is it a full version of Photoshop? I've never used Lightroom so don't know what the advantage of having it would be.

Thanks for any advice and direction!

Not sure what all the difference between CS5 and Photoshop CC. I migrated last year after being on CS6 for a number of years after Adobe announced PhotoshopCC.. My biggest reason for upgrading was to be able to use a newer camera than my D800 without having to 1st convert the file to a DNG format. Most things remained the same or were enhanced, Content aware fill is great addition, and I'll occasionally use the facial aware features in liquify. Can't recall if you could use smart objects or not in CS5 but I believe you could not open those smart objects back up in Adobe Camera Raw.