Picture Control and D2X colors.

Since I do not want to mess up my D300 I decided that this could be the best place to ask. Here we go.
Lately I have noticed that for some shots, the selection in my editing software (ViewNX2) of the colors from the D2X picture control are exactly what I like and prefer, especially Mode I and Mode III.
Obviously, it takes lots of time to process each file during editing.
I know the colors can be downloaded but I have no experience doing so and I do not want to mess up the camera.
Could someone be so kind as to educate me on how to do it?
I will certainly appreciate it.
Thanks.

William Rodriguez
Miami, Florida.

Yes, if you have a D300 (not a D300s), you can absolutely load the D2X mode controls into your camera, as I've done both for my D300 and D700. To do this:

1. In ViewNX2, access Picture Control Utility
  2. Insert an empty/formatted card into your card reader
  3. From Picture Control Utility, select the D2X mode controls you want, and press the Export button
  4. Select the numeric slot where you would like this stored in your card
  5. Once done, remove the card, and insert it into your camera
  6. Follow your manual's instructions for loading Picture Controls

Some goofball started a related thread on this topic a few days back. :wink:

Last edited by a moderator:
Gentlemen thank you for your time and efforts.
I have a Custom Neutral Picture Control in my D300 which I use often because I get with it the neutral colors I like so much. I have also been experimenting using the neutral colors of the D2X in the software (View NX2) and I have found them also very pleasing to my eyes.
Having those colors in camera makes a big difference since I do not have to go to Picture Control saving time during editing.
I do appreciate your efforts.

William.

My processing consists of using Portrait, Neutral, & D2X Mode1 depending on the image. But I find myself using D2X Mode1 the most.