1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

please help me pick a 20/24

Discussion in 'Lens Lust' started by dCap, Jul 14, 2007.

1. hello Nikon Cafe, I found your rather cool looking forum today and have been browsing some of the LensLust ... I joined today and said hello where I was supposed to, now to my Q:

I'm new to Nikon, as of 13-Jul-07
    was Canon FD/EOS/D30 from 1987-2004 + primes
    was KM/Sony from Jan-05 to Jul-07 + primes

Yesterday I got my D200 & 50/1.8
    Tomorrow I pull the trigger on a 85/1.8 & 180/2.8 ... after finding the best deals on theBay.
    I guess one day I'll get the big grip. And I might also get the 60 macro too (want to see if I can live without macro first).
    I shoot all sorts of stuff, but I want to change what I shoot - was a lot of animal stuff with a 300/2.8, but I'm forcing myself off the big guns now.

But, I need your help guys and girls. I'm stuck on my wide.
    - Nikkor 20/2.8 AF-D
    - Nikkor 24/2.8 AF-D
    - Sigma 24/1.8 D EX DG

I read the reviews over on Fredmiranda and photozone of the Nikkor 20/24 and there appear to be some concerns.

I know the Sig 24/1.8 from personal experience, and I also had the Sig 20/1.8 ... both are cool, the 24 has the edge.

But the plan is to 20/24 & 85 for most day trips. The 180 as the tele of choice for when I need to bring a long one in. The 50 is my solo lens when I am travelling light and want a challenge.

Nik 20 ... gets a real knocking over on Photozone, and I respect Klaus' opinion
    Nik 24 ... ditto, but some have had the Nik 20/24/28 and favour the 24

I am totally happy with a 20 or 24 ... kind of wanted the Nik 20 to be stella, but the reviews seem to knock it.