Please help newbie...

Discussion in 'Nikon DX DSLR' started by joeyandalliesmom, Jul 11, 2008.

1. I have been wanting and finally got my Nikon D80... just upgraded from point and shoot, Canon Powershot. But I am feeling so very frustrated... I don't know how to use this camera! Can anyone point me in the direction of some good books to learn more? I can shoot in Auto mode fine... but would like to know more about what all the ISO, Fstop, aperature, etc means. Thanks for any guidance that you provide.:smile:

2. Hi!!!

Your manual is a GREAT place to start. But Understanding Exposure by Bryan Peterson is a good start outside of the manual.
    Also, you can read here, do searches online, use your camera on different settings and just shoot away.:biggrin:

Those are all the things I did. I'm also new to photography and still have a ton of questions. I have so many that I need to start writing them down, or I forget what they are! :biggrin:

3. Wolfie

Wolfie

Jun 16, 2008
    Hazel Green, AL
    Info fo ju!

Hey There!

1st of all grats on your new DSLR camera!

ok. I'm a noob too but i did find some excellent information of Digital SLR tips, techniques, and terminology from google and the sites i listed below. As well on how to go about applying it all out in the field.

check this http://www.digital-slr-guide.com/index.html
    and here is something more direct to what your asking. http://www.digital-slr-guide.com/define-digital-slr.html

I LOVE this site. it's a great source of information. just read everything in sequence and you should be fine (i say in sequence because i started clicking on other more in depth links about SLR terminology / info that i lost track of what i wanted to read in the first place and overloaded haha) :smile:

send me a PM if you need anymore information.

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 11, 2008
  4. rotxlk82

rotxlk82

Jul 20, 2007
    UK