Please help with CS2 Camera Raw

Discussion in 'Retouching and Post Processing' started by LarryD, Oct 27, 2005.

1. I just purchased and installed CS2 using the Wacom 1/2 price offer. I'm very new to Photoshop and I can see it will be a stiff learning period for me. My problem is If I open Bridge or CS2 and double click on a NEF photo from my D2x trying to open it in Camera Raw a message says the program does not support the file? Could I not have CS2 installed correctly? If I convert the NEF to TIFF or JPEG in Capture it will open in CS2. The NEF thumbnails are showing in Bridge they just won't open! Thanks
    Larry

2. There is an update for CS2 on the Adobe site that should solve your problem...

go to support...downloads....windows or mac ......and look for raw 3.2 update... :smile:

3. Thank You Mike!! That did the trick.
    Larry

4. i wanted to thank both of you, I applied the info from this thread and fixed the problem on my machine as well. Usually I end up screwing it up worse but this time it worked. Question tho, do you uninstall photoshop CS once you have cs2 installed. I am afraid to thinking I will just end up removing the wrong stuff. Advice?
    Computer dummy dave

5. DAVE....I'll tell you what I did (cause I am a computer "chicken")....I left the old version on the machine for a month or so before I deleted so I knew the new one was working OK.... :wink:

6. Gotcha, Im a chicken too. I will wait a bit and then gingerly unistall CS

7. Chris101

Chris101

Feb 2, 2005
    Arizona
    Don't feel like you're a chicken. I consider my self somewhat experienced with Photoshop (I started with PS3), yet I still have PSCS on my machine in addition to CS2. On my laptop, I even have PS7 still installed. :BlueHair:

8. comforting Chris. Does leaving CS on the machine not downgrade overall performance?
    I am thinking in terms of the space it takes up on the drive.
    Dave

9. Chris101

Chris101

Feb 2, 2005
    Arizona