1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

pocket wizards... why?

Discussion in 'General flash photography, lighting, and technique' started by cleoent, Aug 28, 2008.

1. cleoent

cleoent

Dec 21, 2007
    San Jose, Ca
    I'm just beginning to think about diving in to flash/off camera flash photography techniques.

If i understand correctly my d300 can act as a commander to sb600/800/900's right? To use those off camera, i wouldn't need a pocket wizard would I?

If that's the case, my setup is a fairly common one, most people interested in off camera flash will have camera's with built in commander modes so why do pocket wizards exist? What am i missing?

Do they increase the range? Does the wireless synching not work as i'm thinking?

2. NateS

NateS

Oct 11, 2007
    Missouri
    I use commander mode a ton and I'll give you a couple of reason's why I would like to have Pocket Wizards. The first is blinking. I use commander mode to take a picture of my son using off camera flash....well, when my on-board flash fires to control the off-camera flash, my son always blinks on the first flash which means his eyes are half shut in all of the pictures. Big pain in the butt.

Second is line of sight which you don't need to have with PW's. On a lot of macro's I get so close that I am infront of the flash/stand/umbrella and I can't get it to fire unless I hold my hand in front of the on-board flash to make it fire backward....this is a pain since there is already so much going on with Macro shooting. Also when I try to use my SB-600 for a backlight I'll probably run into the same problem since I plan to "hide" the flash behind my subject.