Portrait Practice

Discussion in 'People' started by cajun angel, Apr 23, 2007.

1. okay, the real portrait date is this coming Sunday. I've gone nuts trying to get this right! Now, I'm practicing here at home at Clix Pix's suggestion! This is my first attempt and please don't mind my daughter's posture. Just look at all the other technical stuff. Stuart has been so generous in his advice and I hope I've gotten something right on this. Of course I used my Gary Fong light sphere! So, here's Mariam, my first official guina pig?

470601393_b6bd20d432_b.

2. Ottrott's Human

Ottrott's Human

May 21, 2006
    USA
    Hi Dianne,
    This is a big improvement over the last shot you sent me via PM. I would iron out the wrinkles in the backdrop before the real shoot. That's a must.......be very careful about not overlooking details. It's *all* about the details.

If you are shooting subjects with glasses you have to watch that glare. That's a no-no for your finished product.

The lighting looks nice and even with no hard shadows this time.:wink: The forehead is a bit hot though so watch your histogram and the highlight blinker after each shot and adjust your aperture as necessary. Your WB is greatly improved.

Keep at it.....you're definitely making strides in the right direction.

Good work!

3. okay, I know some of the kids - the girls will most likely have makeup on. I think her head was tilted a little too high? I've got a week, so you better be prepared, teacher! LOL!:wink:

4. icetraxx

icetraxx

May 7, 2005
    Louisiana
    Dianne,
    Looking good. After my experience shooting the recital pictures about a month ago, you are doing the right thing practicing. I wish I would have had a little more time before my week long shoot. Oh well, I winged it and the results came out very well. Learned a lot in a short time.