Print quality and image size

Discussion in 'Retouching and Post Processing' started by greyhound rick, Sep 1, 2008.

1. Hello everyone,

While I have been posting on the "Sports Photography" forum I have yet to visit this area of Nikoncafe.

Im still relatively new to photography, but have really tried to learn in the last year. I have spent a lot of time shooting racing greyhounds at Phoenix Greyhound Park and although I feel adequate in that venue, Im inexperienced when it comes to other areas. So.......with that said, I hope the elementary make up of my question is ok as Id really like to get your input! Thanks in advance for your help, input and advice!

Here is my question (I use Capture NX):

Ive used several printing houses and really like Shutterfly. Ive had excellent results with them. In looking at many of my prints I do notice from time to time that some of them look a bit noisey after they are printed. What I mean is that in some areas of the print I can see the dots a bit and it looks a little grainy.

The prints I have done are usually 4x6 with some 8x10s and 16x20s. For this discussion I will refer to the 4x6s.

The photos that Ive noticed this with are ones that are cropped more aggressively than the others that dont have this "problem' or issue.

For example....I took a series of photos of one race in particular at the greyhound racing track and after cropping the sizes were:

frame a. 2306x1537
    frame b. 2034x1356
    frame c. 1835x1223

None of the three looked bad at all after they were printed...HOWEVER, I did notice more of the aforementioned characteristics in photo "c", less in photo "b" and virtually no problem at all with photo "a".