Printer communication problem

Growltiger

Administrator
Administrator
Joined
Apr 26, 2008
Messages
12,229
Location
Up in the hills, Gloucestershire, UK
Yes, I see how to access the DHCP settings for all the devices using the router. That includes the printer.
Are you looking at the router or at the printer? The router won't mention the printer in those settings.
You need to be logged into the router.
Look at the DHCP settings. Show me a screenshot of that page, that might be easier than you typing out the start and end addresses.
We don't want to change any settings in the router. We just need to see them.
 
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
21,197
Location
SW Virginia
There are currently 10 devices online. That's too many to catch in one screen shot.

Here are the IPV4 addresses I see:

10.0.0.101
10.0.0.221
10.0.0.227
10.0.0.115
10.0.0.147 (that's the printer in question)
10.0.0.175
10.0.0.131
10.0.0.114
10.0.0.34
10.0.0.216

There are two more devices for which no IPV4 address is shown. I think they are my other two printers which are connected to my iMac via USB.
 

Growltiger

Administrator
Administrator
Joined
Apr 26, 2008
Messages
12,229
Location
Up in the hills, Gloucestershire, UK
I have to go and do the ironing now and then eat so I won't be around for a bit.
I'm wondering if there is anyone local who could help you with this, it is so hard to do it like this when I can't see what is happening.
But I will be looking in later.
 
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
21,197
Location
SW Virginia
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
 
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
21,197
Location
SW Virginia
Maybe this is what we are looking for:

Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
 

Growltiger

Administrator
Administrator
Joined
Apr 26, 2008
Messages
12,229
Location
Up in the hills, Gloucestershire, UK
Well done!! DHCP starting address is 10.0.0.2
DHCP ending address is 10.0.0.253
So they haven't left any space. We need to make some.
Change the DHCP starting address to 10.0.0.21 and save that change.
Now we have plenty of addresses for fixed devices.
Let's decide the printer will live at 10.0.0.11
Step 1 is now complete.

Now step 2. You need to login to the printer so go to 10.0.0.147 and find its network settings. You need to set these manually instead of automatically.
The numbers you need are:
IP address 10.0.0.11
Subnet mask 255.255.255.0
Gateway 10.0.0.1
Save these and then reboot the printer (power off and on).

After completing step 2 you will have a printer with a fixed IP address.

Step 3 will be doing something, if needed, to tell the Macs where the printer is. But this may be communicated to them automatically by the printer. We shall see.
 
Joined
May 5, 2005
Messages
21,197
Location
SW Virginia
Well done!! DHCP starting address is 10.0.0.2
DHCP ending address is 10.0.0.253
So they haven't left any space. We need to make some.
Change the DHCP starting address to 10.0.0.21 and save that change.
Now we have plenty of addresses for fixed devices.
Let's decide the printer will live at 10.0.0.11
Step 1 is now complete.

Now step 2. You need to login to the printer so go to 10.0.0.147 and find its network settings. You need to set these manually instead of automatically.
The numbers you need are:
IP address 10.0.0.11
Subnet mask 255.255.255.0
Gateway 10.0.0.1
Save these and then reboot the printer (power off and on).

After completing step 2 you will have a printer with a fixed IP address.

Step 3 will be doing something, if needed, to tell the Macs where the printer is. But this may be communicated to them automatically by the printer. We shall see.
Thanks. Those steps are now completed.

I tried deleting the printer in System Preferences and adding it back in. Then I tried printing and there is no change...still won't print. I don't see how to tell the computer where the printer is.
 
Last edited:

Growltiger

Administrator
Administrator
Joined
Apr 26, 2008
Messages
12,229
Location
Up in the hills, Gloucestershire, UK
Thanks, All. I'm not celebrating 'til I've tried it a bit more and from all computers.
Well done, that was quick.
Now configure the others and it should all be done.

TIP. Make a label and write the IP address 10.0.0.11 on it and stick that on the front of the printer. This is what IT departments do. If you have a big setup and 100 printers you can't remember them all.
 

Growltiger

Administrator
Administrator
Joined
Apr 26, 2008
Messages
12,229
Location
Up in the hills, Gloucestershire, UK
How many computers do you regularly use in your home?
Who? I know Jim has at least two.

I have three at a prime location and two at a secondary location, plus a Mac. But I have lots of addressable devices on the network. For example at the primary location:
Fiber modem and router, plus Vonage VOIP for phone service with no landline = 2
Network video security recorder plus four security cameras and a nestbox camera and a managed gigabit switch = 7
Satellite box, secondary satellite box = 2
Two HP lasers, one old b/w and one colour = 2
Four extra cabled Wireless Access Points providing wifi everywhere (thick stone walls 300 years old restrict radio waves) = 4
All the above are at fixed addresses.
TV and Blu-ray player = 2
Three computers and two phones = 5
That makes 24. And I'm sure there are some more. (There are three more gigabit switches, but those are all unmanaged.)
 

Latest posts

Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Nikon Cafe is a fan site and not associated with Nikon Corporation.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2005-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom