Problem with the D3 and Zeiss 100mm F2... UPDATED!!

Joined
Nov 10, 2005
Messages
3,403
Location
Merrick, NY
I have a weird question. I am having problems getting sharp pics using my Zeiss and D3 at distances beyond say 10 feet or so. I am shooting at F2 and I know the DOF is very thin. I have a pretty steady hand and have lots of portraits of the kids shot with the Zeiss / D3 combo. At distance it seems the camera is back focusing. How could it be in good close focus manually, but bad focus manually at distance?

Here is one... from about 5 feet away or so. F2

ZeissD.jpg
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)


An example at distance...

This is a crop about 66.7%. Focus was on the big R in Waverunner. It looks like the focus was on the W to me. All shots at distance seem similar to this one. F2.

OOF.jpg
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)


The autofocus seems fine as well... here is one I shot today with the 24-70 at 2.8.

DD3.jpg
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
 
Last edited by a moderator:
N

Nuteshack

Guest
i don't get it ..it's a m/f lens, right? u either nail it or u don't, right?
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2007
Messages
1,593
Location
Franklin MA US
How can the camera backfocus? It is not focussing at all? The photographer is focussion in MF, right?
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2008
Messages
6,091
Location
Alberta
Im not sure it not the camera. When I sent my D3 in because of a dead fuse. Nikon adjusted and tuned the whole camera:smile:. One thing I expressed to them that when using my Nikkor 800 5.6 ED-IF AIS the focus was off:confused:. And I said its not me , its just this lens. It wasnt happening with the Nikkor 600 F4 ED-IF AIS. Long story short when it came back with the focus adjusted it was now perfect with the 800. And every other lens I own. So..., Maby its time to have it looked at. Is it just this one lens?

Gregory
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2005
Messages
3,403
Location
Merrick, NY
Im not sure it not the camera. When I sent my D3 in because of a dead fuse. Nikon adjusted and tuned the whole camera:smile:. One thing I expressed to them that when using my Nikkor 800 5.6 ED-IF AIS the focus was off:confused:. And I said its not me , its just this lens. It wasnt happening with the Nikkor 600 F4 ED-IF AIS. Long story short when it came back with the focus adjusted it was now perfect with the 800. And every other lens I own. So..., Maby its time to have it looked at. Is it just this one lens?

Gregory


Nope... two different Zeiss lenses.

Did you think the 800 was in focus when you were using it?? I mean... did the focus confirmation light come on and was the image in the viewfinder sharp??
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2005
Messages
3,403
Location
Merrick, NY
Don, you may need to adjust the diopter setting on the viewfinder: http://diglloyd.com/diglloyd/free/FocusAccuracy/Diopter.html

Wow... interesting reading for sure. I doubt that is the problem though. I have a Brightscreen installed in the camera (done professionally by them). I can clearly see the prism come together... and that agrees with the green dot.

Did you read the link embedded in the one you sent. Sounds like my exact issue.
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2008
Messages
6,091
Location
Alberta
Yes before my D3 was tuned by Nikon the light was green and I knew that it was in focus, only it just wasnt. It was very frustrating. But its all good now. In fact I just got home from the canal and downloaded some blue heron captures and every one is tack sharp. I thought it was the diaoptor but that wasnt it. I heard about the mirror being able to be "shimed to effect point of focus. A camera that wont focus is like a gun without bullets, useless.

Gregory
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2005
Messages
3,403
Location
Merrick, NY
Yes before my D3 was tuned by Nikon the light was green and I knew that it was in focus, only it just wasnt. It was very frustrating. But its all good now. In fact I just got home from the canal and downloaded some blue heron captures and every one is tack sharp. I thought it was the diaoptor but that wasnt it. I heard about the mirror being able to be "shimed to effect point of focus. A camera that wont focus is like a gun without bullets, useless.

Gregory

Did you ask them what they did to tune the manual focus??
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2008
Messages
6,091
Location
Alberta
Don: Ill look for the bill where they itemized the sevice. But right now, I got go to bed, Im doing 12 hours days and shooting after work. Ill Pm tomorrow. night

Gregory
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2006
Messages
7,892
Location
East TN
Frankly, manual focus without a tri-pod is typically hit or miss. You may not realize it, but even a surgeon could possibly sway OOF, IMO. Put it on a tri-pod, focus accurately, snap with cable release and then see what you get. If it's OOF then, you do have a problem of some kind.
 
Joined
May 2, 2005
Messages
871
Location
Vienna, Austria
Don,

1) put it on a tripod
2) Focus manually as you see it sharp
3) Use LiveView in tripod mode with 10x enlargement to check if it is really sharp. If there is a difference, then your viewfinder is out of focus - professionally replaced or not.

kind regards, Andy
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2005
Messages
3,403
Location
Merrick, NY
Dropped off the camera at Nikon today... described the problem in detail (with pics on CD). We will see what happens... :biggrin:
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2005
Messages
3,403
Location
Merrick, NY
Picked up my camera today from Nikon... it is FIXED perfectly. Here are two shots... one pre and one post fix. These are both crops... not 100%, but about 50% or so. Both are handheld, both processed the exact same way. In both shots I used my split prism screen and focus confirmation dot. Look at the difference.. Focus was on the big R in Waverunner...

For all you guys who said it was user error... I guess it wasn't. :biggrin::biggrin:. Way BETTER now!!!

Pre...

OOF.jpg
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)


Post

NZ1%20copy.jpg
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2005
Messages
3,403
Location
Merrick, NY
Nice :smile: What ended up being the problem?

No idea... I upgraded the buffer too...

Here is what they did...

RPL memory compression
RPL shutter mechanism
RPL connector FPC
RPL rubber grip
RPL rewind side rubber
ADJ autofocus operation
CLN CCD
CKD communication
General check and clean
 

Latest threads

Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Nikon Cafe is a fan site and not associated with Nikon Corporation.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Forum GIFs powered by GIPHY: https://giphy.com/
Copyright © Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom