1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

PSE 7 Question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dannb, Jul 31, 2009.

1. dannb

dannb

Jan 27, 2009
    Silverton, Oregon
    I've had my D90 for about eight months and am slowly getting more comfortable with it. I finally made a serious attempt at shooting for an evening in RAW. However, PS Elements 7 can't seem to open the files. I have tried the "all format" option and several others--including the NEF file type option--and keep getting a message stating that PSE7 cannot open the file because it is the "wrong type of file."

I'm really new to PS and somewhat of a technological dunce, so I imagine I am making a rookie mistake.

2. TXAvi8tor

TXAvi8tor

Feb 6, 2009
    Texas!
    You're not making a rookie mistake. You need to update the version of Adobe Camera Raw (ACR) that shipped with PSE7. It predates the D90 and doesn't recognize raw files the body produces, even though they have the same .NEF suffix as other Nikon raw files.

Update to the latest version of ACR:
    http://www.adobe.com/support/downloads/detail.jsp?ftpID=4524

3. dannb

dannb

Jan 27, 2009
    Silverton, Oregon
    Thank you very much. I appreciate the quick response. I'm sitting around nursing a daughter that just had her wisdom teeth pulled and will look into this right now.

4. dannb

dannb

Jan 27, 2009
    Silverton, Oregon
    Hmm...downloaded, extracted, installed and I'm still getting the same message. This is where the techno dunce steps in.

5. TXAvi8tor

TXAvi8tor

Feb 6, 2009
    Texas!
    These instructions are way at the bottom of the page I linked: