Question 300 f/4

Discussion in 'Macro, Flowers, Insects, and Greenery' started by Pastorbbc, Jun 28, 2008.

1. I'm about to order a macro lens -- I had decided to get the sigma 150 2.8 but after reading and viewing this site I'm wondering if I should not just get the nikon 300 f/4. I'm new to this and I'm concerned that the 300 is not a macro lens but it seems to do great with macro shots. Do you need a true macro? Please excuse my lack of knowledge but the 300 f/4 is a lot of money. I also want to do some birding shots and I already have a 1.4x TC. Can I "excuse the pun" kill 2 birds with one lens? Thanks for helping out a newbe.

2. Bob Coutant

Bob Coutant Moderator Moderator

May 17, 2005
    Pleasantville Ohio
    The answer to your question depends significantly on exactly what you plan to use it for -- both now and in the future. I have no experience with the Sigma 150, so I can't comment on its optical quality. That being said, the big difference between the two lenses is working distance. If your subjects are stationary, it probably doesn't matter all that much. On the other hand, if you want to do butterflies, dragonflies, etc., the extra working distance of the 300mm (with or without a TC or extension tubes) comes in handy. The 300/4 is also a good starting point for birds. These do come up for sale from time to time -- usually at ~80-85 percent of the price new. [Reason for sale is usually for upgrade to 300/2.8 VR or other high end telephoto lens -- never heard anyone say the 300/4 was not an outstanding lens.]

3. I agree with Bob, I use my 300 and 80-200 with tc and or tubes as I don't have a macro and find it fine for most things. It is not flat field and if you don't have working space it can be a problem. I do much bird and sports to I go for the longer lengths.