Question about D3100 lens

Hi folks, hope everyone's well. I'm an absolute beginner and I have question regarding my camera. I have a D3100 with the standard 18-55mm lens. When I try and take wide angle shots at 18mm I find that, more often than not, the lens can't seem to find focus and, therefore, won't let me take the pic. It doesn't seem to matter, either, how distant the focal point is (far away hills or inside the house), I end up having to zoom in slightly or use manual focus.
Also, when I do manage to get a shot, the picture is never completely clear, on closer inspection it looks slightly hazy and out of focus, particularly around the edges. Is this a common thing, or something I could be doing wrong or a fault with the lens. Any shots from around 24mm and upwards are bob-on and crystal clear.
Cheers,
John

Just try to understand the hyperfocal distance and focus that area alone. Go for F7 or smaller aperture..the sunny 16 rule still works..Those simple things would solve your issue

I have a D3100 with the standard 18-55mm lens. When I try and take wide angle shots at 18mm I find that, more often than not, the lens can't seem to find focus and, therefore, won't let me take the pic. It doesn't seem to matter, either, how distant the focal point is (far away hills or inside the house), I end up having to zoom in slightly or use manual focus.
Where was your focus sensor? Which is asking, what AF mode was selected? Probably Auto AF, which was probably the issue.

Try AF-S, so you can see (and select and control) your focus point.
See D3100 manual page 55-60.
Esp see page 56, about reasons why. If your focus sensor was on something like blue sky, there is no detail there to focus on (and shutter will not operate). If focus sensor was on a near foreground object, distant background will be an issue, and vice-versa. See page 56.