1. Welcome to NikonCafe.com—a friendly Nikon camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Question about graphics card

Discussion in 'PC/Windows/Linux' started by pixel_a_ted, Jun 11, 2019 at 10:27 AM.

1. I'm somewhat new to the PC world and have been using a Dell desktop on and off for a few years. Yesterday I decided to look into the graphics end of things. System Information tells me that there is a Nvidia NVS 510 and an Intel HD Graphics 530 in the machine. In the Nvidia control panel, "Use for graphics and compute needs" is checked, which seems reasonable as the Nvidia card is supposedly superior to the onboard graphics.

However I came upon a website that directly compares these two and unless I am misreading it, the Intel Graphics 530 appears to be superior:
    UserBenchmark: Intel HD 530 (Desktop Skylake) vs Nvidia NVS 510

As an example, there is the following (Nvidia on left, Intel on right):
    upload_2019-6-11_10-24-42.png
    Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

Can someone shed some light on this? Thank you.

2. Growltiger

Growltiger Administrator Administrator

I think the explanation is that that NVIDIA card is not designed to be a high performance card for video editing, games etc. The reason people buy it is to support four displays at once. It is for business use, for example a financial trader might have four monitors with information from multiple sources.

Do you know why your PC has that card, was it perhaps used for a business purpose like that before you got it?

Here is the same comparison but with my card from 2017:
    UserBenchmark: AMD RX 580 vs Intel HD 530 (Desktop Skylake)
    As you can see it is hugely faster than the Intel graphics.

Last edited: Jun 11, 2019 at 11:22 AM