Question About Older Lenses

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Vandyu, May 14, 2005.

1. Vandyu

Vandyu

May 14, 2005
    Richmond, VA
    I've got a Nikon FA with a Nikkor 35-70 zoom and a Nikon Series E 70-210. I also own a Panasonic FZ-20, which I thought would be a good entry into digital photography. Love it except for the low light focusing problem. Thinking of selling it and getting a Nikon D50 with a kit lens.
    Since I'm new to digital photography, I realize my questions may seem silly, but by asking I will learn. Can I use the existing manual lens with the D50 and what will I not be able to do with them? I plan to buy the entry level of Nikon's auto-focus zoom lens a bit later. I enjoy shooting wildlife and landscapes, plus an occasional indoor family event, which becomes a problem with the FZ-20. :roll:

2. As far as I know, the D70 and the D50, just like it, won't be able to meter with this lens: you could still use the manual mode and look at the histogram at the back of the body, adjust and reshoot. The kit lens (18-70 for the D70 and I think 18-55 for the D50) will cover most of the same range as your manual lens, will meter automatically and will also auto-focus. Is you zoom a fast lens, eg f/2.8? That's about the only thing these other lenses may not have... Either way, you'll enjoy your digital Nikon and will soon be infected by a disease known around here as "Lens Lust Disease (LLD)"! ;-)

3. Tom_Kline

Tom_Kline

Apr 24, 2005
    Alaska
    I am using much older lenses than that with my D70 and basically following what Philippe has suggested with respect to histograms. Works very well even with faked AI like on my metal-mount 28/2 (one of the first lenses to be mulitcoated, even before multicoating was announced) - it makes for a dandy fast normal lens for the DX format.
    Tom